R1, R2, R5 – Riggs Road Line

I was feeling quite satisfied with my self on a recent weekday morning.  I’d figured out a quick and easy detour in my morning commute that would include both a new bus route and a Metrorail station I had yet to visit.  Two for the price of one!  I exited the 80 at Fort Totten, ready to begin my early morning mini-adventure.

I walk to the end of the bus bay and see the R1, R2, and R5 are at the bus shelter labeled “K,” so that means the R4 (the bus I thought I was there to board) has to be somewhere else.  A quick check of my notes shows that R4 should be at bus bay “A.”  Okay, great.  I walk the length of the parking lot, under the tracks and to the other side where “A” turns out to be for the K6 bus.  Hmm.

My first thought is, “Metro has a mistake on their website.”  Surely this confusion couldn’t be my fault!  I double-check my notes and kind find anything to explain why I wasn’t seeing this bus.  As I’m figuring out my next move, an R2 bus pulls up.  “R2 is kinda close to R4″ I reason, so I decide to hop on board.  I ask the driver “Is there still an R4 bus?” He replies, “Yep, but it stops at Brookland.” D’oh!  The funny part is that I rarely write down my plans, relying on memory and instinct as much as anything.  And one of the few times I do, I misread my own notes and end up in the wrong place.  Oh well.

The R2 is actually a fine substitute, since I’ll end up at Prince George’s Plaza and can then take the Green Line straight to work.  Each time I end up in PG County I’m reminded how very little I know about this county less than four miles from my apartment.  The area surrounding Fort Totten was bursting with activity, from pedestrians to bicyclists and cars galore.  We slowed down a bit to pass construction, but otherwise it was a very standard weekday morning ride.  I didn’t mean to be on this bus, but no harm, no foul.  Next time I’ll know not to plan ahead so much.  Oh, and to make sure I actually get my directions right!

R2 Metrobus

The newest buses in WMATA's fleet have back windows, which I love.

Line: R1, R2, R5 – Riggs Road Line   Rating (1-10):  7

Ridership:  This is the only bus I’ve ever ridden where there was a distinct pattern of teenage mothers riding  – I’m presuming to school – with their moms.  Two girls boarded with school uniforms on and strollers in tow; one girl held her own baby while the other let her mom snuggle her sleeping infant.  There were a smattering of younger students on board and a handful of older folks, but, curiously, no one even close my age.

Pros:  This bus hits up two shopping centers – The Mall at Prince George’s and Orchard Center – meaning you have your pick of Starbucks and Targets.  The R1 and R5 run southbound in the morning and northbound in the evening to accomodate commuters.  All other times – including weekends – it’s just the R2.

Cons:  During rush hours the bus only runs as frequently as every 15 minutes and the rest of the time it’s 20 to 25 minutes between.  On weekends it’s even more sparse, with over an hour’s wait between buses, which only run as late as 7:30pm.

Nearby and Noteworthy:  George Washington Cemetery in Adelphi has one of the most comprehensive cemetery websites I’ve ever seen (like I spend a lot of time browsing cemetery websites).  It even includes buttons to share on Facebook and Twitter!  The history section notes that the cemetery serves Asian and Muslim communities, and the adjacent Mount Lebanon Cemetery serves the Jewish community.  That’s a lot of diversity in one place.

Latest Metro News: Some adjustments to Metrobus service kick in a week from today (yes, Metro often slips service changes in on Sundays), so if you ride the popular 70, 90s, 32 or N routes (among a smattering of other bus lines), you’ll want to check it out.

Leave a comment