DC Circulator: Convention Center – SW Waterfront

He lives vicariously…through himself.He’s the most interesting man in the world!  I friggin’ love that Dos Equis commercials, even if the beer itself leaves something to be desired.  I had a moment like that yesterday, though, as I was walking down a sidewalk in my ‘hood and a guy with a rolling suitcase asked me to help him figure out when the G8 would be arriving.  Knowing the stellar history of on-time arrivals for that particular bus route (please note the sarcasm in my voice), I nonetheless dutifully checked the bus stop sign and noted that he probably just missed a bus by 4 minutes or so.

However – all hope was not lost!  This was one time where running late was in the rider’s favor, and I glanced down Rhode Island Avenue to see a G8 just crossing over North Capitol Street.  I told him that he would, in fact, be able to hop right on a bus.  Smiles all around!  “And where does the bus go?” I replied, “Farragut Square.”  “Perfect!”  We practically hugged each other, and I did, indeed, live vicariously through myself in that moment of bus goodness.

I find myself similarly overjoyed whenever I alight from the Chinatown Metro station just in time to hop on the Circulator bus bound for the Convention Center.  But oh, dear readers, this particular bus goes to much more than just the Convention Center.  It also happens to terminate directly next to my favorite grocery store or – as I like to call it – the John Singleton Giant.  Many neighbors I know refuse to shop here, but I love, love, love this grocery store.  You get the feeling that employees have worked there for years and many of them live in the area.  I know that because they were able to walk to work during the snowstorm and thus keep me in a steady supply of Freschetta pizzas and cat food despite the snow.  Who cares if the lines are a little slow and the fresh produce selection doesn’t rival Whole Foods?  I’ll take personality over organic peaches any day.

So, anyway…yeah.  Another slam dunk for the DC Circulator, in my book anyway.  Someday I’ll have to ride this route all the way to the SW Waterfront, although my motivation for heading in that direction has dissipated since I found out they moved “The Awakening” to National Harbor after the sculptor sold it.  Who’s bright idea was that?  Somehow it just doesn’t seem right that the majority of the people able to view it are tourists or convention attendees who are chomping down on Potbelly sandwiches.  Bummer.

Newfangled Metro bus bench (explicitly designed to cut down on overnight visitors and/or sitting on in extremely cold weather) as seen from the Circulator.

Line: DC Circulator: Convention Center – SW Waterfront    Rating (1-10): 8

Ridership:  Here’s who I don’t see on this bus: the folks who work at Giant!  When I hopped on the other day, one of the regular checkout gals was standing there with her Giant shirt on, waiting for one of the 70 buses, even as the Circulator pulled right up in front of her on the curb.  This leads me to believe that many Metro riders still don’t know about or understand the Circulator bus routes, and that these buses actually cost less and get you to your (limited selection of) destinations faster.  What can we do about this?

Pros:  You know my love for the Circulator buses by now, dear readers.  Here’s the quick and dirty, for those who have not been playing along at home: run every 10 minutes, only $1, European-style seating, fewer stops than regular routes, friendly DDOT staff.

Cons: It’s not really the bus’s fault, but this route runs so tantalizingly close to my house – just a few more blocks! – that I’m constantly reminded that DDOT does not see fit to service any part of the NE quadrant or across the Anacostia River, outside of brief layovers and Union Station.  Sure, Georgetown and Adams Morgan are heavily trafficked on public transit, but what about the other half of the city?!

Nearby & Noteworthy:  How often do you walk past a synagogue that has a line of folks stretching around the corner, waiting to get in on a Thursday night?  Walk by Sixth & I Historic Synagogue on many nights of the week and it’s a hopping place.  Come for Shabbat, stay for the saxophonist.   L’chaim!

Latest Metro News:  A Circulator bus was in an accident earlier today.  Details are still emerging, but no one was killed, thank goodness.  It appears that a taxicab driver’s heart attack was part of the problem.

3 responses to “DC Circulator: Convention Center – SW Waterfront

  1. My biggest problem with the Circulator Woodley Park/McPherson is that it doesn’t stop often enough. The distance between U St and Irving Street is 0.8 miles and includes a HUGE hill. Target and Giant both attract lots of customers who leave with many bags.

    Now the S9 express bus on 16th street makes one stop between U street and Irving at Euclid which breaks up that long hill.

    Ditto for the 79 express bus on 7th street which also makes one stop between U/Florida and 7th/Georgia at Howard Place. A very reasonable way to break up that hill.

    To make matters worse, on 14th Street the Circulator bus is often seen SPEEDING both up and down the hill. They fly by far faster than the 25mph limit.

    Why doesn’t the Circulator stop more often on 14th street?

  2. Probably because it is a Circulating bus not a STATIONary bus.

  3. jkfloy – I think you make some great points. It *is* a hike between U and Irving and I never know if I’m better off walking downhill or up, depending on where I’m headed in between. Adding just one stop at Target would be fantastic (and that would solve the problem of your bad pun, Patrick! I kid…)

    And yes – the Circulators are flying low half the time. Mostly I appreciate this because you get the sense that you’re actually going somewhere, even during rush, but it can be intimidating and a bit scary at times.

Leave a comment