S9 – 16th Street Express

There are few buses that run through downtown DC that I haven’t ridden at this point.  Surprisingly, though, the S9 wasn’t one of those, so I hopped on board a few days ago to give it a spin.

I’m an unabashed bus lover and I recommend bus routes whenever possible as alternatives not just to Metrorail, but to driving, walking, and almost any other form of transportation you can think of (I’m looking at you, non-tourist Segway riders).  If you think buses aren’t a superior form of transportation, then you’re missing out.  It definitely takes a bit more work to figure out schedules and stops, but using the Service Nearby tool on WMATA’s website helps.

I happened to be pet-sitting for some friends in Columbia Heights, so the S9 was the perfect way to get from work to their apartment in the evening.  I generally avoid 16th Street at all costs during rush hour.  Express and Extra Metrobus drivers, however, seem to be especially adept at navigating the complexities and complications of rush hour city traffic.  They’re not afraid to get into the left lane and on a line like this that operates more like the DC Circulator routes (service runs every 10 minutes on the S9), there’s usually no need to slow down and poke along like some bus drivers have to do in order not to get too far ahead of their schedule.  In short, I was at my friend’s apartment in just over 10 minutes.  Ten minutes!

Thoroughly impressed with my afternoon experience, I tried the S9 again, this time in the morning.  The experience was great.  Although I had to stand for most of the duration of this ride, the A/C was cranking and the driver adeptly stayed on schedule by passing up at least a half dozen S1, 2, and 4 buses.  Watching all those riders waiting at non-Express bus stops made me feel – I’ll admit – just a bit superior, like I had discovered a top secret direct route that was available only to a chosen few.  Luckily, the S9 is there for everyone, and if you’ve never thought about setting foot on a bus before, I encourage you to start with this one.

S9 16th Street Express Metrobus

One of the busiest stops is at 16th and Irving. Target is just two blocks away!

Line: S9 – 16th Street Express   Rating (1-10):  9

Ridership:  All business, most of the time.  Riders who know about Express routes tend to be efficient commuters who can reload their SmarTrip cards in under 15 seconds and know to walk all the way to the back of the bus to make room for others.  My bus was full, but not packed, with a lot of turnover at every stop ensuring that nobody had to stand for too long.  Suits and sensible heels abound, but there’s also a smattering of school kids and their parents.

Pros:  The trip from McPherson Square to the Silver Spring Metrorail Station takes just 30 minutes.  If that seems like a long time, consider that a similar trip by train takes 27 minutes, and that’s only if the Red Line isn’t delayed.  And for regular Red Line riders, you know that there’s almost always some sort of delay.  Plus the bus ride is $1.50; the same peak-of-the-peak train ride costs $3.30.

Cons:  Unlike the 79 Metro Extra bus, the S9 only runs for two 3 1/2 hour windows during rush and only on weekdays.

Nearby and Noteworthy:  Quit browsing Facebook on your smart phone and gaze out the window instead.  Sixteenth Street, NW, is home to some amazing architecture and a host of embassies.

Latest Metro News: Metro rolled out the ability add value to SmarTrip cards online this week. After some confusion in registering my SmarTrip card (versus creating an online account with WMATA, which are two separate things), I was able to load $20 on it in about 60 seconds.  The email I received with my receipt, however, was not quite as straightforward: “You may load your items to your SmarTrip® or CharmCard® by touching your card to a rail fare gate, bus farebox, or Ticket Vending Machine (MTA TVM). Please allow time for the instructions to be sent to the gates, fareboxes and TVMs.  It usually takes 1 business day for gates and TVMs, and up to 3 business days for bus fareboxes, to be updated.  You need to touch your smartcard to the gate, TVM, or bus farebox within 30 days or your purchase will expire.”  Not sure what the 1-3 business days for updates means, but I guess I’ll figure it out on tomorrow’s commute.

6 responses to “S9 – 16th Street Express

  1. Actually, S9 runs both northbound and southbound during both rush hours. It’s a great route.

  2. The S9 actually runs both ways during both rush hour times. Think about the logistics, the Agency can’t keep sending seven buses an hour up 16th street without doing something with them at the end of the route. Sending them back down keeps extra buses from piling up at Silver Spring Station.

    • I know, I know – I fixed it! There are several routes, though, that only run one way during rush hour with approximately the same frequency as the S9.

  3. Yeah, but how many of those special, one-way routes are exclusively painted with a unique color scheme and route name?

Leave a comment